Music

Today’s topic: my tastes in music. Not ordinary,I’m warning you! 😉

Recently I happened to get hold of Gorillaz’ new album Plastic Beach. After all the hype made of it (as well as a full page column in a national tabloid) I listened to one of the songs on YouTube (Stylo feat. Mos Def and Bobby Womack). And I have to say, I loved it. I bought the album and, after listening, gave it an awesome rating of 3.9 out of 5 on Alexandra Burton’s Extremely Choosy Album Scale. And that is pretty high!

I’m a fan of energetic music. That’s odd, seeing that the only exercise I get is when I have to go out and buy replacement parts for my computer.  Black Eyed Peas, Lady Gaga – all feature high on my list. I listen to them mainly when I’m trying to concentrate on something (not a typo, yes, they do help me study 😉 ) and when I’m thinking of my storyline.

I’m also a fan of Shock Rock and other metal/goth music, for some unfathomable reason. Read Evanescence. They cheer me up,and often help me fall asleep (ever tried this with Marilyn Manson? It works for me).  I listen to music all the time. Reading, sleeping, eating, playing UNO, surfing the net, and I’m listening to music right now! Black Eyed Peas, to be exact. Not a fan of the legume but I love the band.

I have no idea why I chose this topic. It probably has something to do with the fact that I’m extremely bored.

P.S. Watched How To Train Your Dragon yet? Oh, let off, I know it’s an animation movie but it’s great! And you’re reading this typed by a high schooler. Who, by the way, considers all iRobot, Avatar, War of the Worlds and 2012 good watching. Yeah, 🙂 I’m a science fiction buff.

Noodle

a member of the virtual band Gorillaz

~ by alexandraburton on April 7, 2010.

2 Responses to “Music”

  1. Oh, I don’t really listen to the techno-rap-pop stuff that is so popular now days. I usually only listen to death metal and alt rock. Everyone thinks Scream O is emo, but I like it for some reason.

    And actually, I kind of wanted to see Dragon the other day. I’m a fan of horror, thriller, sci-fi, and kiddish movies! Are you going to see Despicable Me? I am ’cause it looks cute. Also becasue Dreamworks makes the best animated movies, like the Prince of Egypt (best songs eva!). My favourite TV shows are Monk and Fringe. Have you seen those?

    However, my all time favourite movie has to be the Nightmare Before Christmas. Did you know Danny Elfman also voiced Jack?

Leave a Reply

 
